Sizzling Starts

Class 12 at Newbarns have inspired our writing today. Visit their site at http://2014class12.newbarnsblogs.net/ to see the amazing writing they have created with Deputy Mitchell.

 

Sizzling Starts (from 7 Steps to Writing Success)

 

What is a sizzling start?

 

A sizzling start begins where the action is. In our case today, we were looking at the interaction between the knight and dragon. Was it important to add what the knight had for breakfast? Definitely not. A story needs to start with excitement and hook the reader.

 

http://www.sevenstepswriting.com/

shutterstock_121300666

The sky lit up like fire as the dragon swooped down with an ear aching roar. The fearless knight shows no mercy and charges forward………… (Gus)

 

‘Come on! Come on!’, I shouted as I ran through the meadow, trying to escape from the fire breathing dragon. I hear someone scream, ‘Help me, help me!’ But we cannot stop. The dragon is coming, the dragon is coming. We don’t have much time…… (Lydia)

 

The fire is burning the shield. The smoke fills the air and the suffocating stench makes it hard to breathe. Both fight to the death, one slashing while the other scratching. They both try to defend and kill while holding on to their lives because they both know one must die…….. (Kayah)

 

Aaaaargh! I look around and see my scared, burned, fellow knights in pain. I charge and scream towards the giant man killing beast and cut one of its scaly legs off. Roar! ………….(Grace)

 

Roar! The dragon screeches, it closes in, its big tallons opening up like it’s ready to feast….. on ME! Its enormous wings flapping ferociously with its razor sharp hooks coming towards me. I duck down into the bushes and see the dragon’s shadow in the bright, gleaming fire filled sky. It swoops, my sword and shield starting to slip from my hands ……… (Jemma)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *